Throwback Summer: Revenge on Prom ’07

Last week on TBS I shared my Prom memories and what a terrible night it ended up being. This week the “Empire Strikes Back.” Some readers took my stance against Prom as me being anti-party, but that couldn’t be further from the truth. It wasn’t the act of partying that upset me, but rather the expectation to do so.

A good party should be organic, come out of nowhere, and be set on your terms, not societies. This week I throwback to one of the greatest parties I’ve ever been a part of, Revenge on Prom ’07. As I mentioned last week, our great after Prom party plans completely fell apart. It left a sour taste in our mouths during the summer leading into college and we collectively wanted to make amends for our failing. Thus set into motion the greatest revenge party this world has ever seen. We returned to the scene of our failure, my parents’ lake house, to throw a true “we’re going to live forever” party to satisfy our rebellious teenage appetites.

A house, a pool, a prom size group of a couple dozen people, and two kegs equaled the weekend of our young lives.

Keg Stands.

Keg Stands.

More Keg Stands

More Keg Stands

What else do you do when you have a keg besides copious amounts of keg stands. The great ritual in any young person’s partying years. It combines gymnastics, lots of drinking, and the thrill of competing for whom can go the longest. Two TBS debuts in these pictures, on the top right is the aforementioned, but not yet seen Quinn Ford, lifting yours truly with great ferocity along side Brian. Despite the severe change in angle from my right side to my left, due to Brian’s height limits, boom two short burns in two weeks, I still managed over 40 seconds. What is it they say about hindsight again? And on the bottom left is Brandon Groth, aka Captain Groth due to his status as captain of the football team Senior year. Groth is the coolest guy I have the pleasure of calling a friend and I don’t think any of my other friends will take offense because they would say the same thing. Any time he would go out with us, which was more rare then anyone wanted, it was guaranteed to be a good time. The dude was the David Ortiz of going out, he just always came through in the big moments. The energy always picked up when he was around because we all knew it was going to be a legendary night.

206353_1009852563917_956_n

Any time a game of drunk pool basketball is involved you know it is a legendary night. Pool basketball may be my favorite game of all time. It is part basketball, part water polo, part swimming, part absolute cluster fuck. And all the best aspects of it get ratcheted up tenfold when alcohol is involved.

Beer pong.

Beer pong.

A good partier knows how to improvise and make a beer pong table out of anything. In this case, a covered pool table. Man, did that leather cover need a good hosing after this night. I swear the stench of beer has still not gone away even seven years later.

Laura and Amy

Laura and Amy

Here are two more newcomers to the TBS series, Amy Bilek on the left and Laura Schramm on the right. I spent a lot of time party with these two lovely ladies Senior year of high school, which was a good thing since we ended up going to college together. Our bonding in high school made the transition to college easier as it helped to have two people I knew so well with me. They’re currently living together in the great city of Chicago, which warms my heart to see two friends remain close through the trials and tribulations of high school and college. This was far from the last epic party we would attend together, so this will not be the last you see of them.

1909830_1026916750587_8457_n

Another sign of an epic night is when people randomly stop by because they heard about it, in this case it was Erin Sullivan. Pictured modeling off our cheap basement putting green. The Demetrio men can never be too far from a golf course. I don’t want to make it sound like Erin was not welcomed cause she was one of my favorite people that I only ever hung out with in school. I would’ve loved to hang out with her more, it just never happened. Luckily she got the chance to join in the festivities before we all went off to college. I have not seen or heard from her since that night, so I hope all is well. Also, found another Pro for my Pros/Cons list on Facebook, if it were not for the Facebook photo evidence I would never have remembered that she was there that night.

1909830_1026916950592_229_n

1909830_1026917030594_938_n

1909830_1026916990593_585_n

Billy’s drunk dance shows are always a special treat at any party. This one combined a little classic “Moves Like Jagger” with risky business sock sliding. I personally cannot think of a better combo. Well done, sir.

1909830_1026916390578_266_n

And then things started to get weird.

200093_1009853283935_6265_n

Really weird…

The downside to a memorable night of partying is the hangover that follows. In this case even our cars suffered major hangovers as they were unable to start.

197857_1009854083955_2319_n (1)

In the end though, the cars were not the only ones that suffered. I might’ve been able to secure the location for this Revenge Party, but I lacked the skills to keep it hidden from my parents. As it turned out the lady that cleans my parent’s house showed up the next morning to quite the surprise, considering no one was supposed to be there. In her confusion, she called my Mom to apologize for not realizing people were there. This led to further confusion and eventually anger from my mother. Even if that didn’t happen it wouldn’t have taken long for them to discover what I had done. There were holes in the wall, door handles broken, and the whole place smelled like a frat house. I received quite the verbal lashing upon my return home, followed by a few weeks long Irish Catholic guilt trip, and a grounding for the rest of the summer. Luckily it was already the second week of August and the rest of the Summer only meant two weeks before I left for the sweet freedom of college. 

I have no regrets though. The second best summer of my life, we call that a tease, went out with a bang. It was the end of my high school life and I got to celebrate it with the people that mattered the most to me during that time, in true John Hughes fashion. Time and circumstance change all friendships, but while I may not be as physically close to most of these people I’m proud to still call them my friends and that will never change. Unfortunately the TBS Series has taught me that most people have deleted old Facebook albums from High School, so I haven’t been able to share as much of the great times as we had, but now the series shifts to a time that no one wants to delete, call me Jonah Hill and Channing Tatum, cause next week I’m going to college!

God I miss being that skinny!

God I miss being that skinny!

 

 

Leave a Reply

